• Welcome to the all new, redesigned Puckin Hostile

    The goons here at Puckin Hostile have completely redesigned the website, to better enhance your experience no matter what devices you surf with.

  • The Puckin Hostile Blackhawks Shoutcast

    Join the Hostile crew for this bi-weekly look at the NHL and Blackhawks hockey. Of course, it just wouldn't feel right without plenty of inappropriate jokes and references. Available on iTunes and Soundcloud.

  • Puckin Hostile - Blackhawks News Facebook Page

    If you're one of those Facebook users like the Puckin Hostile page. Click here to be taken over to our page.

  • Puckin Hostile Instagram

    Head over and follow the Puckin Hostile Instagram page. We post up all the latest photoshop creations for you to enjoy. Click here to be taken over to our page.

  • Follow the guys on Twitter

    Follow Gatekeeper (@PuckinHostile), Stankus (@Patrick_Stankus), Bryan (@AtomicFroster), Norton (@PDNorton3), and the Shoutcast account (HawksShoutcast) on Twitter.

Showing posts with label Winnipeg Jets. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Winnipeg Jets. Show all posts

Saturday, February 11, 2017

Blackhawks at Jet 5-2 Win Recap

"It Ain't So Bad"

by Patrick Stankus


After escaping Minnesota with two points on Wednesday night, the Blackhawks jumped over the wall and into Canada on Friday night to take on the Jets. Since the All-Star break, the Hawks have found a little bit of a groove of late, after a loss in San Jose to open the annual Ice Show Trip. Winners of their last three, two of which were against divisional opponents, the Hawks faced another division foe in the Jets tonight. With Friday being the first of a back to back, Corey Crawford got the nod in net for the Hawks, looking to improve on his recent resurgence following his appendectomy in December.

In what's become a nice change of late, the Hawks once again came out of the gate strong to start the game. It also doesn't hurt when your opponent takes two penalties in the opening ten minutes. Nothing like killing the momentum of the home crowd. Nevertheless, the Hawks took advantage of the Jets mistakes, and peppered the net with sixteen shots in the opening period. Despite going scoreless on those two power play opportunities, it was the Hawks who found the net first. With the minutes winding down, the #AK72Line put the Hawks ahead on a beautiful one timer from Panarin to Kane to head into the first intermission with a 1-0 lead.

As good of a start the Hawks had in the first period, the second period was nothing like that. The Jets capitalized on the sluggish Hawks, and tied the game in the first two minutes of the second period. As the period went on, the Hawks eventually found their legs and their pace they had to open the game. Just past the midway point of the game, the #AK72Line struck again. This time it was a reverse of the one timer in the first period. Kane fed the puck to Panarin, who teed one up, but was denied. Unfortunately for the Jets, Anisimov had his ass parked in front of the Jets net, and put home the rebound to give the Hawks their lead back. Down the stretch the Jets had a couple of chances to tie the game, but Corey Crawford stood tall, and once again, the Hawks took a one goal lead into the intermission.

In the third period, both teams clamped down on the opportunities in the first half of the period and a defensive struggle ensued. That style of play changed in the second half of the period. With third period meltdowns being a theme this season for the Hawks, it looked like we were going to be treated to another tonight. With just over six minutes remaining, Niklas Hjalmarsson opened the door for the Jets by taking a penalty. Luckily for Hammer, the penalty kill came through and preserved the Hawks lead. In the final three minutes all scoring hell broke loose. Duncan Keith put the Hawks up by two with a bomb from the blueline to make it a 3-1 game. Marian Hossa and Artemi Panarin added empty netters for good measure to even out a late Jets goal, and sent the Hawks out of Winnipeg winners by the score of 5-2.

The Good
  • The Hawks opening goal was a thing of beauty. An active stick by Anisimov caused a turnover by Blake Wheeler, and opened the door for a perfect one timer from Panarin to Kane. 
  • Dirty goals have always been hard to come by for the Hawks, but Artem Anisimov continues to show how to get it done. He was right there on the doorstep to hammer home a Panarin rebound for the Hawks second goal.
  • How many times has it been said? "Good things happen when you shoot the puck on net? Duncan Keith's third period goal was further proof of that. You don't need fancy stats to tell you that. Keep it simple and good things happen.
  • Marian Hossa reached the 20 goal plateau with his third period empty net goal, which came shorthanded. Aren't you glad his play is declining this year?
  • Niklas Hjalmarsson was a +5 tonight! You heard right, a +5. That's about as many Pearl Jam songs were tortured into hearing at the United Center.
  • Speaking of Hjalmarsson, he and Seabrook had six blocks each. I'm putting this in there because I know how much the Tortorella style of coaching bothers some people.
  • The #AK72Line had themselves a night. They had seven points between. All three players had a goal, while Kane and Anisimov each added an assist, while Panarin added two helpers.
  • Corey Crawford had a solid night in net. He made twenty-eight saves on thirty shots.

The Bad
  • For awhile this game was looking like would be a frustrating goalie loss for the Hawks. For the most part Connor Hellebuyck was good in net for the Jets, much like Mr. Full Right has been in the past for the Jets against the Hawks.
  • Following Hossa's empty netter, the Hawks took their foot off the gas, and the Jets cut the lead back down to two.

The Ugly
  • As you know, I'm very critical of Michal Kempny when the time is right, and come to the defense of TVR when needed. Tonight, I can't defend TVR. I'm still trying to figure out what the hell he was doing on Bryan Little's goal.
  • The forwards of the Jets had a rough night. Most notably were Blake Wheeler (-3), and Patrik Laine (-2).
  • The Jet though that takes the cake (literally) is old Stay Puft Buff himself, Dustin Byfuglien. That fatso was a -5 on the night. As Gate would say....... WOOF!
Share:

Thursday, January 26, 2017

Blackhawks vs. Jets
5-3 Loss Recap

"Wash. Rinse. Repeat."

By a disappointed Patrick Norton

It’s been a wild week as a Hawks fan. So many big moves to discuss, where do I begin? I can’t believe Stan Bowman actually listened to the fans and traded Jonathan Toews. It was a no-brainer to deal Corey Crawford, but to package Toews and Brent Seabrook was a bit of a surprise. Can’t wait for Mike Smith, Antoine Vermette and Anthony Duclair to arrive in Chicago. Only if we could orchestrate a Hossa for Sharp swap to give us the best odds for the Stanley Cup. Ohp, sorry. I thought this was my piece for @TheHockeyPress.

The only notable storyline coming into this game was Scott Darling receiving the start over Corey Crawford. Thanks a lot, Coach Wizzo. The next shoutcast will be three hours of Gate rants trying to shut up the meatballs who think Crawford is the equivalent of second-stint-Nikolai-Khabibulin. Sure, a little rest can’t help the struggling goaltender, but too many fans are going to see this as a long term thing. No, folks. We’ll see Crow right out of the gate after the All-Star break.

I’m going to go against the rules and tell you the first period shot totals before I tell you what happened. 18-8, Blackhawks. The Hawks had a little pep in their step to begin tonight’s action, but Thrashers...ahem, excuse me, Jets netminder Connor Hellebuyck had the Blackhawks seemingly solved early. Leading in the shot department 9-2, #DickFuckingPanik was guilty of goaltender interference and headed to the box for two minutes. In a decent kill, the Blackhawks PK curse eventually continued with just fifteen ticks of the Jets’ man advantage remaining, as Patrik Laine had the puck on a platter after a sweet dish down low from Bryan Little. Then, on the ensuing shift… boy, have we heard that a lot… a Jacob Trouba shot from the blue line ricocheted off of stationary defenseman Brian Campbell and while heading for a gaping net, Shawn Matthias tapped it in for good measure. Shortly after, momentum shifted back to the home team. Duncan Keith took a ripper with Anisimov providing a screen and the rocket hit the back of the net cleanly. With the deficit cut in half, the Blackhawks brought a bit of that momentum into the break.

The Hawks stayed sharp in the second. Nick Schmaltz bounced off of the side boards and picked his corner short side past Hellebuyck to tie the game four minutes into the frame. The energy remained with the Blackhawks. A solid penalty kill added to the drive and with just over three minutes remaining in period number two, Tanner Kero put the home team ahead for the first time in the night. After a relatively busy first period, the defense tightened up, the offense regained their focus and Scott Darling came through with a few slick saves and the Blackhawks had a one goal lead heading into the third period. 

The third period began with a little 4-on-4 action, but nothing was doing. Every offensive rush for the Hawks seemed to be in the transition off of a mistake by a Winnipeg player. Nothing was sustained and the Blackhawks quickly fell in danger of turtling back into their shell, similar to the gameplan they instilled against the Tampa Bay Lightning on Tuesday. Luckily, the Jets jetsed and struggled to have a clean possession. Darling was lofted a few pucks in the first ten minutes, but the defense did an excellent job of keeping the Jets from the middle of the ice and preventing solid opportunities. I had written up to this point with 4:47 left in the third before I took my dog for a quick walk during the commercial break. Forrest, my mutt, had to take a dump, so when I came back, the score was 4-3. What the f***? Anyways, the recap of the final five minutes can be found in “The Ugly.” Tonight’s final, 5-3.

The Good

  • I know that there’s a chance that Nick Schmaltz is a prick in the locker room, but his second chance with the team has been an overall success. He had a decent portion of ice time, especially in the offensive zone. His defense was underrated, though. A few good poke checks here and there paired with his early second period goal lands him in “The Good” tonight. 
  • Duncan Keith finally had a classic Keith two-way game. He’s not declining, but he’s focusing too much on aspects that don’t include turnovers and adequate defense. Keith played a solid game in the back end and he added his eighty-eighth career goal. He perfectly balanced what he’s done in the past and what he’s been working towards this season.
  • He didn’t tack on any points, but Jonathan Toews continued his undervalued ways tonight. Shutdown defense and some playmaking in the offensive zone proved that the centerman may be on his way out of the slump he’s dealt with throughout this season. Okay? So, shut up!
  • Boy, Marcus Kruger was missed, eh?

God dammit. Nevermind. F*** this. For the second game in a row, the Blackhawks have unraveled in the third period. Wow. And if Fatrick hadn’t taken the game on Tuesday, I would’ve been responsible for both shitcaps.

LET’S HIT THE RESTART BUTTON

The Good

  • F***in’ nothin'.

The Bad

  • Me. I was supposed to be announcing a high school basketball game tonight, but I took a nap and missed my alarm. Now I’m in Quenneville’s doghouse. 

The Ugly

  • Where do I begin? Every freakin’ goal is followed up by another quick tally by the opposition. It’s a gosh darn recurring theme now and if they plan on finding any success in April, they’re going to have to get that shored up. Ridiculous and unacceptable. If you have two eyes, you’d be able to see the deficiency this team possesses at the blue line. You want to know why Crawford’s numbers are down since his appendectomy? Look right at the guys in front of him. We touched on this on Episode 74 of the shoutcast, but the Blackhawks have three decent d-men on a given night. And so help me God, if they f*** up, whoever is in net is screwed. Sure, Crow’s let by a few softies, but tonight was wash-rinse-repeat with #BlackhawksSaviorScottDarling between the pipes. Why in the world is Trevor van Riemsdyk in the NHL, let alone on the ice in the third period of a one goal game? I’m perplexed and would seriously like an explanation. Same thing with Kempny. I know that Gate’s in charge around here, but Kempny’s continual playing time has been hard to defend since scoring a couple goals early in the month. Rozsival was unable to play tonight, but Christ Almighty, I want to barf while saying this, but I would’ve rather seen Rozsival, Rundblad, Nick Boynton or Kimmo Timonen out there. The defense really took another L tonight. Two points down the drain. Niklas Hjalmarsson and Duncan Keith can’t babysit everybody on the ice. Hold your own, God dammit.
  • Thank you, Nick Schmaltz and Tanner Kero for scoring in the bottom-six. Everyone else on the offense, quit lookin’ through your fly and get your head out of your ass. I don’t understand how the Blackhawks have sixty-five points heading into the break when their offense has been shoddy at best and their defense has been a tire fire for fifty-one games. 
  • Steve Konroyd, are you serious? You think Scott Darling might want the game winner back? Did you get hit in the head recently? Hopefully it isn’t a death sentence.
  • Pat Boyle, you’re questioning the effort in the third period when they’ve been outscored 7-0 in the frame over the course of two games. And you’re QUESTIONING the effort? Dude, open your eyes and say it with some gusto. Yeah, they’ve been giving up in the third period. It’s ridiculous, dude. Don’t think you need Dr. Konroyd and the Mayor of CTE to be making sure for you.
  • Down by one, Patrick Roy… oh, that was Joel Quenneville? Anyways, Coach Wizzo pulled Darling for the empty net with 2:34 left in the third down by one. How do you think that worked out? The Hawks lost by two, instead. 
  • The same mistakes made on Tuesday were made tonight. New night, same crap. Clean it up or else this poor play with be 2017’s death sentence. 
  • Perfect, the All-Star Break. Reward the crappy play of late with a nice week long bye week. Hopefully Toews doesn’t get “sick” and have to sit out next Tuesday’s game against San Jose.

Sorry for my incoherent rambling, but this is a crappy product on the ice right now. Anybody who watched tonight’s game deserves their time back. I wouldn’t put the Blackhawks on the same pedestal as the Bulls, but if you’re a fan of both teams, this month has been far from roses and lilies. I’m going to bed hoping to fall off my bed and hit my head hard enough to forget tonight’s performance. I’m aware that tonight’s title is not metal-related, but it fits tonight’s action a bit too well.
Share:

Tuesday, December 27, 2016

Blackhawks vs. Jets
3-1 Loss Recap

"Into The Flood Again"

 
by Patrick Stankus


The last time we saw the Blackhawks, they were skating off the United Center ice with their tails between their legs after being beaten by the lowly Colorado Avalanche. So for the last four days we've had the pleasure of stewing over that inexcusable loss to the worst team in the league. Nothing like leaving a nice big, old lump of coal in your stocking there. With the Christmas break over, the Hawks started the final week of 2016 with a Tuesday night match up with the Winnipeg Jets. Its a busy week for the Hawks, as they'll close out the year with three games in four nights, leading up to the Winter Classic on Monday in St. Louis. After seeing that loss on Friday, it wouldn't shock me if the Hawks get caught looking ahead to that date with the Blues.

If we thought Friday night was bad, well the joke is on us. In the early stages of the first period, the Jets made the Hawks look silly. The Jets outworked, out-skated, and out-hustled the Hawks in every aspect of the game. It didn't help either, that in between his turnovers, Vinnie Hinostroza put the Hawks shorthanded in the opening minutes. As the period went on, the Hawks did have some nice looks, but they were all of the one and done variety. The Jets on the other hand, pounced on every chance, and had the Hawks in a 2-0 hole after twenty minutes.

In the second period, the Hawks had spurts of life here and there, but much like the opening twenty minutes, had trouble sustaining it. Though it wasn't one of his best outings, Corey Crawford did make some key saves in the period to keep the Hawks in the game. Just before the midway point of the period, the #AK72Line struck, and Artem Anisimov cut the Jets lead in half. As was the case with the first period, the Hawks ended up with a double digit shot total, but could only score once and would trail 2-1 after forty minutes.

The third period saw the Hawks actually show some signs of life, but it was nothing to get too excited about. Early on, Brian Campbell had a horrendous line change that allowed Drew Stafford in on a breakaway, that he would bury, to extend the Jets lead. As the period went on, the Hawks had a handful of chances, and some actual sustained pressure, but it wasn't enough. Around the midway part of the period, they wasted away their third power play of the game, and the writing was on the wall. Despite outshooting the Jets 10-8, the Hawks wouldn't get any closer, and dropped their third straight game by a score of 3-1.

The Good
  • Artem Anisimov returned to the lineup, reuniting him with Kane and Panarin on the #AK72Line. Anisimov also had the lone Hawks goal on the night.
  • For the majority of the night, the 3rd had the most sustained pressure for the Hawks. Once again, the line of Rasmussen-Kruger-Panik is proving to be a solid little combination.
  • Michal Kempny and Michal Rozsival (shouldn't have been) were healthy scratches again tonight. I'm pretty sure the United Center catering staff is picking up the Czech language well.

The Bad
  • Marian Hossa was put on IR and might return for the Winter Classic. This is a sight we're all too familiar with. I'm talking about the Blackhawks playing in outdoor games of course.
  • Forsling and Hjalmarsson were the only two Hawks that were a -2 tonight. I think its time Forsling takes a seat in the press box because he was noticeably bad tonight. I wouldn't mind seeing Rozsival out there. I mean you can't blame this slump on him.
  • The power play sucked up the joint and was 0 for 3 on the night.
  • The Hawks had 18 shots blocked by the Jets tonight. Shows what kind of a lazy effort is put forth when you can move the puck to find open shooting lanes.
  • Vinnie Hinostroza didn't have a great start to the game, neither did the Hawks for that matter. Sandwiched between his turnovers in the first period was his penalty he took just over a minute in. That kind of play will go over well with Q.


The Ugly
  • The Blackhawks got owned in the first two minutes of the game worse than CM Punk did in his MMA debut. The Jets skated circles around the Hawks for the first five minutes of the game. Somehow the Hawks did manage to kill off a Jets power play in that time frame.
  • I'm still trying to figure out what the hell Gustav Forsling was doing on the Jets second goal. If you're going to block a shot, block the fucking shot. Don't sissy, half ass it and screen your goalie. For Christ's sake even Kempny would have blocked that.
  • Is there anyone still happy that Brian Campbell came back to Chicago? Way to half ass it back to the bench and leave Seabrook and Crawford out to dry on Stafford's goal.
  • I saw a fancy stat lover complaining on Twitter about Pat Foley bragging about the amount of hits the Hawks had in third period. I believe it was something like this "Yes Pat, that's because the Hawks haven't had the puck." Please explain this theory to me. PLEASE. Because the only answer I ever get is "hits are a flawed stat." Oh blow it out your ass. All your fancy stats are beyond flawed. Stop shoving that bullshit down my throat. Last I checked tonight, the team that won, had 32, and they seemed like they had the puck an awful lot. Sorry hockey is violent and hitting is a part of the game.
  • Andrew Desjardins played a whopping 6:52 tonight. Talk about bringing shame to Jeff Shantz.
Share:

Sunday, December 4, 2016

Blackhawks vs. Jets
2-1 Loss Recap

"Clash With Reality"

by Patrick Norton
@pdnorton3
Pregame

The Blackhawks would be without Jonathan Toews (back) and Corey Crawford (appendix) as they took on the Winnipeg Jets to close out the weekend. The last time these teams met, the Blackhawks were beginning their circus trip and let’s just say, it didn’t go as planned for the road team. The Blackhawks were shut out 4-0 and played one of their worst games of the season. And that was without their captain and starting goaltender. Eric Semborski would not be in attendance either, as his Amateur Tryout didn’t pan out. Instead Lars Johansson was called up from Rockford to fill in as the backup goaltender for the next two weeks.

Game Time

Neither team was shot out of the gate. The Blackhawks and Jets played possibly the most boring twenty minutes of hockey all season. The Jets finished the period with eight shots and the Blackhawks could only muster up two of their own. The only excitement of the frame came 2:22 in when Jordin Tootoo and Clayton Thorburn squared up and dropped the gloves. Even that was kind of boring. At the end of one, no score.

After a game in Philadelphia the day before, the Hawks stayed in bed for the second period, too. It reminded me of a classic Blackhawks first period with the amount of turnovers by Chicago and the total chances Winnipeg had. Somehow, nobody scored until the Blackhawks gave the Jets the first powerplay of the game and Winnipeg capitalized. With 43 seconds left in the period, Bryan Little gave the Jets the lead heading into the 3rd. I don’t know what it is about the game, but through two, I was beyond frustrated. The Hawks should be beating up on a team like Winnipeg, but we fall into the trap time and time again. Damn. Anyways, after two, the Jets had a one goal edge, 1-0.

The third period started with a great penalty kill by the Blackhawks (wait, seriously?) and it seemed like winds may be shifting when Dustin Byfuglien tripped Patrick Kane leading to the first powerplay for the Hawks. No. Not even close. The Blackhawks looked like they were trying to kill the penalty and the Jets put together multiple decent shot opportunities. Finally, with a quarter of the period remaining, a beautiful set-up from Kane to Panarin put the Blackhawks on the board. It wouldn’t last long, though. Andrew Copp, who had hit the pipe with a shot ten seconds before Panarin’s goal, didn’t miss the second time around. He broke the tie with a snap shot skating right and shooting left past the stick side of Scott Darling. Could he have saved it? Maybe. Should the Blackhawks have had more than one goal? Most definitely. The Blackhawks got lucky with just over three minutes remaining when Hinostroza drew a high stick and gave the Blackhawks a four minute powerplay. Chicago couldn’t capitalize. There were flurries, but nothing came of it.

The Good

  • Richard Panik looked pretty good. Fighting for pucks in corners and hustling his ass off to create turnovers. He’s got some hidden speed, but tonight, he showcased it.
  • Vinny Hinostroza looked pretty good, too. Seemed to have the puck on his stick a lot, but he kept trying to be a bit too fine, which led to a few mistakes. I liked his style of play, though.
  • Scott Darling played his damn ass off, which is impressive after starting on short notice yesterday.
  • Brian Campbell had his best defensive game of the season. And he still turned over the puck numerous times. Just goes to show.
  • Pat Foley calling Dustin Byfuglien “Big Boy” made me laugh so hard I almost forgot about how crappy the Hawks were playing.
  • The desperation powerplay to finish the game was pretty entertaining. They just couldn’t finish.
  • Connor Hellebuyck was really good, especially in the final three minutes. Helps that the Blackhawks offense decided not to test him until them.

The Bad

  • The commercials for the new CSN show “In The Loop” make me want to turn my set off. I like the idea for the show, but the ads are cringeworthy.
  • F*** Steve Konroyd. His takes are so bad, it’s not even fair to Blackhawks fans anymore. Goodness, take your crappy analysis elsewhere. It’s not even fun to make fun of you anymore.
  • I’m just bitter because I have a cold and my mom made me shovel during the intermissions. I love the snow, but I despise shoveling, especially when I can’t even drink water because my throat is so sore. Also, I’m writing this recap instead of doing homework, but whatever, I already got into college.
  • I don’t blame Eddie for this, but every damn time he talked about a play, the guy in charge of replays played the wrong clip.

The Ugly

  • The Blackhawks offense generated TWO shots on net during the first period and the second shot didn’t look like it was even going on goal. Brutal.
  • Turnovers by defensemen make me furious. Hjalmarsson had a few, but not terribly noticeably. Duncan Keith gave up some A+ chances stemming from his turnovers. IT just can’t happen.
  • Classic shitshow penalty kill.
  • Frustrating. Very frustrating game.
  • The defense gave up what seemed like thousands of breakaways, but Scott Darling kept it close. Unfair to do to the guy who just played in another crappy game the day before.
  • This game was so “Ugly” worthy, the “Bad” section was reserved for notes about the telecast and my life.
  • The Blackhawks powerplay in the beginning of the third period seemed more like a damn penalty kill. More shots and chances for the Jets. Pure ridiculousness.
  • Can’t blame him for the offense being nonexistent, but Joel Quenneville’s gotta throw the damn challenge flag on that second Jets goal. Not even close to being onside. Whoops.
  • For the next practice, I’d appreciate if “putting the puck on the net” were on the to-do list.
  • The Jets played last night, too, so what made the Blackhawks so flat footed for an entire 59 minutes? I just don’t get how they have so many points when they play like this. They’ve played way better. They’ve played worse. They haven’t played as frustrating. I would’ve shut off the TV had I not been writing the recap.
  • The equipment manager had an off night, eh? Twigs were breaking left and right throughout the game, but most noticeably during that final powerplay when the Blackhawks were trying to sustain constant pressure on the Jets and Hellebuyck.
  • After the game, Quenneville called the offense’s play throughout the season “sporadic,” which is good to know that the fans aren’t the only people who seem to think so. He also said the team didn’t deserve to be in this one. Thanks, Captain Obvious.

#Fatrick Stankus Fatsy Stats

  • Artem Anisimov and Artemi Panarin both had Corsi’s above 10. They were the only Blackhawks in positive double digits.
  • Brian Campbell had the lowest Corsi, -9, but spent a lot of his game in the defensive zone. Also, -9 was the lowest? Impressive, considering how outplayed the Blackhawks were tonight.
  • Blackhawks won 31/58 faceoffs, but it doesn’t matter when those wins don’t translate to better possessions.
Share:

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Blackhawks at Winnipeg
4-0 Shutout Loss Recap

"Another Day in Quicksand"

by Gatekeeper


The Blackhawks began their last circus trip ever, Tuesday night in Winnipeg Alberta, facing the Jets part Deux. They came in carrying a pretty warm streak, after beating the Eastern conference leading Canadiens, Sunday night. This, of course, means that we were all in for a big let down, and let down is what we were given.

The Blackhawks laid a dodo bird sized egg for fans, which should have been expected, just not against the Jets. Clearly the Jets are a team trending upwards because, honestly, could they be any worse than last year? That said, they have rookie sensation Patrick Laine eating up opponents and young promising players like Mark Scheifele, Jacob Trouba, Nikolaj Ehlers, and Connor Hellebuyck contributing, but they were also shorthanded because of injuries. Tyler Myers, Bryan Little, Drew Stafford, and Mathieu Perreault were all missing from the lineup for this one.

The Hawks, sort of, showed their faced for the first period, but that didn't last long. There was a lot of running around in their own end, and the Jets finally took advantage with about 7 minutes gone in the period. Basically, that was all the Jets needed. It was that rough of a night. On paper, the Blackhawks held the shot advantage 8-6, but there weren't many legit threats either way.

The second period started with the Blackhawks powerplay and then a short time later, they had a two man advantage. This didn't end up turning out well for the Hawks and this rolled into a third period melt down. Again, on paper, it looks like the Blackhawks played better than they actually did, because of the shots generated on the power play. 12-7 looks like a very good shot advantage, when you're not factoring in the powerplays. Outside of those 5-odd minutes, there wasn't much more to "Crow" about.

The third period was just a complete collapse from the team in white. The Hawks gave up a goal 4 minutes in and then the back breakers were the two goals in 11 seconds roughly midway through. After that, the game was just a mere formality. Off to Calgary...

The Good
  • There isn't much good. The Hawks came out flat and never really got engaged. They hit a slightly warm goalie, and just folded.
  • Honestly, The only redeemable thing about this boring game was the Hockey Fights Cancer theme, so there ya go.

The Bad
  • The first Jets goal was actually a pretty nice play by Mark Scheifele. He was, kind of, thrown a hand grenade and was able to tow drag around Hjalmarsson, while finding rookie Josh Morrissey in the slot. Morrissey let a pretty good shot go, that Crawford saw, but it had just enough juice to sneak through Corey and into the net.
  • Chris Thorburn really took most of the wind out of the Blackhawks with his first goal of the year, in the third period. His shot was long enough, and not all that hard at all. Thorburn just spun around and one timed the puck from the far wall. I don't think anyone, including Thorburn, expected that to be anything but a garbage rebound. Crawford should have been able to track it, but it ended up up being perfectly placed in the top far corner. You could just tell that this was not Crawford's night.
  • Patrik Laine became the first player since Evgeni Malkin in 2006-07 to score 12 goals in his first 18 career NHL games, with the Jets 3rd goal of the night. It was nothing fancy, almost a Hossa type goal. A rebound laid loose in the slot are and Laine chipped it top cheddar. I like this kid, and the Blackhawks should be concerned that he's in their division. His big frame and speed make him a potential nightmare for years to come. I'd take him on my team in a heartbeat.
  • Eleven fucking seconds after the Laine goal, Nic Petan (who just makes me think of Chris Kattan when they say his name) gave the knife a final twist for good measure. Not only that, but former Hawk Marko Dano had the assist.
  • Not Corey Crawford's best performance. The first goal snuck through, and giving up 2 goals in 11 seconds is never acceptable. He wasn't exactly given much to work with, either, but four goals on 24 shots, is not ideal. Mulligan. Scott Darling came in and pulled the "utility infielder thrown in to pitch" duty, because the game was over already.

The Ugly
  • I'm not really sure what Vince Hinostroza was doing, but he god fucking rocked by Josh Morrissey. He looks to have had his head up, but continued to skate right at Morrissey, and Morrissey completely ragdolled him. The Department of Player Safety will look at the hit because of the violence and injury, but I don't see much wrong with the hit. Morrissey hit him in the chest, and Hinostroza went helicoptering into the boards. If Morrissey got him in the chin just a shade, it's because Hinostroza is a hobbit. No one wants to see a player get hurt, but this one is on Hinostroza. He had a rough time getting up and gathering his wits, and never returned. If he wasn't concussed then I'm Fabio.
  • The Blackhawks had a long 2 man advantage in the second period and accomplished dick-all. So, now that the penalty kill is functional, we get the Clown Shoes powerplay back. I don't remember agreeing to that swap.

The #Fatrick Stankus Fatsy Stats
  • Jacob Trouba actually carried an overall -12 Corsi for the night, but a great deal of that had to do with the PK time.
  • Brent Seabrook had a great night possession-wise towing a plus 14 Corsi.
  • Again, the Blackhawks team possession numbers look pretty good because they out shot the Jets and held them to a low shot total.

The Lineblender
Left Wing - Center - Right Wing
Hinostroza - Toews - Kane
Panarin - Anisimov - Hossa
Desjardins - Kruger - Panik
Schmaltz - Rasmussen - Tootoo

Keith - Campbell
Kempny - Seabrook
Forsling - Hjalmarsson


Share:

Saturday, April 2, 2016

Blackhawks at Jets
5-4 Overtime Win Recap

"The Final Countdown"

by Patrick Stankus

With the regular season entering its final week, the Blackhawks traveled north of the border to Winnnnnnnnnipeg to take on the Jets for the final time this season. Before the game even started, news broke that Duncan Keith will be suspended six games, meaning he will miss one playoff game. In addition to Keith being out, Hossa missed the game with an illness, while Crawford was still nursing an upper body injury. I guess the good news heading into tonight's game was at least Brent Seabrook returned tonight. Needless to say, it sounds like it could be an eventful final week of the regular season.

When the puck dropped, both teams looked as if they were skating in a daze, like they're are trying to get the regular season over. The Jets opened the scoring just shy of the midway point of the period, but the Hawks would twice over the final six minutes of the game to take a 2-1 lead. I feel like I should mention that we were treated to two rare feats by the Hawks in the first, a power play goal by Panarin, and a goal by The Manshitter. I am still in shock. In the period the Jets would out shoot the Hawks by a 13-9 margin, but trailed 2-1 on the scoreboard after twenty minutes.

The Hawks started the second period shorthanded, thanks to a late first period penalty by TVR. The penalty kill came through and killed off the Jets power play to preserve the Hawks lead. Blake Wheeler tied the game just past the half way mark of the game with his 21st goal of the season. Shortly after Wheeler tied the game, the Jets would get another crack on the power play after Seabrook put the puck over the glass. Just as the case was earlier in the period, the PK was able to keep the Jets off the score sheet. Late in the period, Patrick Kane netted his 40th goal of the season to put the Hawks back on top. When the horn sounded the Hawks would remain in the lead 3-2.

The third period had a wonderful display of sloppy, shitty hockey. Early on, the Hawks had a chance with a 5 on 3 power play, but couldn't convert on it. As the Jets second penalty was coming to an end, Panarin had a chance to put the Hawks up two, but he missed a wide open net. As is always the case, the Jets came down the ice right after they killed off the penalty, and Byfuglien tied the game at three. Blake Wheeler added his second goal of the game, later in the period, to put the Jets in the lead 4-3. Not to be outdone, Artemi Panarin felt the need to add his second goal of the game with just under five minutes remaining, and tied the game at four. Of course, since I'm recapping the game, this one would head to overtime. Fucking awesome.

The overtime period proved to be a short, thank God. After a couple of fabricated 2 on 1s for both teams, Panarin set up a one timer for Seabrook and thankfully ended this "exciting" game as said by Steve Konroyd with a 5-4 winner for the Hawks.

The Good
  • The gross power play finally showed up, and opened the scoring tonight with a Panarin one timer. Jump for joy folks.
  • Artemi Panarin had himself a nice, little game with a four point night. He wound up with two goals and two assists.
  • Other Hawks that had multi point nights were Seabrook 1G, 1A; Kane 1G, 1A; and The Gus Bus 2A. Of the three of them, Kane and Gus especially had strong games. Nice to see The Gus Bus return from his tune up with a strong game.
  • The PK killed off all three Winnipeg power plays tonight. I really missed saying that. Can I also say, #KrugerEffect ?
The Bad
  • In the waning seconds of a power play in the third period, Artemi Panarin had a chance to put the Hawks up by two with a wide open net, but he pulled a Stalberg and shanked the shot. In typical fashion, the Jets came down the ice after killing the penalty and scored to tie the game. Gotta bury the golden chances when you get them.
  • Midway through the second period during a tv timeout, Andrew Shaw left the game, and did not return. After the game Q said he was day to day, and it wasn't serious. I'll drop the Q line of "we'll see" on that one.
  • Shaw wasn't the only one who had a rough second period. TVR took a big hit from Wheeler, and Toews took a puck to the head. Basically the Hawks were dropping like flies in the middle frame.
  • Scott Darling was alright. He certainly wasn't stellar, but he got the win, and I'll take that.
The Ugly
  • We all know TVR's skating isn't his strong suit. It was on full display on Byfuglien's game tying goal in the third period.
  • For Christ's sake, I give up on goalie interference challenges. They're stupid. They're all fucking stupid and a waste of everyone's goddamn time. Big middle finger to the GMs for voting this horseshit into the league.
  • Not only did TVR take a huge hit in the second period, but overall he had a night to forget. He was a team worst -3 on the night, and looked lost out there more than a few times.
  • Well the awesomeness of 3 on 3 OT seems to wearing off. Tonight was another example of that. Its starting to look like the players don't even give a shit. Not even a waffle cone of SOFT SERVE ICE CREAM could have made that exciting.
  • Live look at the Hawks defensive core with Keith out.......
Share:

Saturday, March 19, 2016

Blackhawks at Jets
4-0 Shutout Win Recap

"Get Me Outta Here"

by Patrick Stankus

The Blackhawks traveled north of the border on Friday to take on Andrew Ladd's former team, the Winnipeg Jets. With the Hawks struggling through some tough times of late, a trip to Winnipeg could be just what the doctor ordered. Missing from the Hawks on the quick one game trip was goalie Corey Crawford, who was out with an upper body injury. That meant #LemontNativeScottDarling would get the call tonight, who throughout the entire season has dealt with his own struggles in net.

The game got underway with both teams trading chances back and forth, but nothing really stood out as a highlight. Actually the entire first period would turn out to be quite a bore, despite both teams racking up double digit shot totals. The Jets received the game's first power play, midway through the frame, but couldn't solve Darling. As for the Hawks, they'd end the first 20 minutes with 13 shots, but nothing to show for it when the horn sounded.

As the second period got underway, the Hawks had a chance to build momentum with an early power play. Unfortunately for them, they couldn't capitalize on the opportunity and the game remained scoreless. Midway through the period, the Hawks got a little sloppy with their play, and took two penalties. Luckily for the Hawks, the penalty kill game through and kept the Jets off the board. In the final five minutes of the period, the Hawks offense came to life. Patrick Kane and Marian Hossa scored goals 26 seconds apart to give the Hawks a 2-0 lead after two periods.

When the Hawks returned to the ice for the third period, the offense picked up right where it left off. Andrew Ladd opened the scoring just over three minutes into the period to make it a 3-0 game. Just under two minutes later, Tomas Fleischmann wanted in on the scoring and increased the Hawks lead to 4-0. Scott Darling and the penalty kill took over for the rest of the period, and preserved the lead, that eventually turned into a 4-0 win for the Hawks.

The Good
  • Credit where credit is due. Scott Darling was awesome tonight. He made 28 saves, and none better than his second period diving save on Drew Stafford. Hopefully this shutout can give Darling some confidence going forward, something he's been lacking big time this year.
  • Andrew Ladd received a video tribute and a standing ovation from the Winnipeg crowd. A nice gesture by the fans and the Jets. Of course Ladd decided to rub it in that he'll be playing in the playoffs by scoring in the third period.
  • THE PENALTY KILL HAD A PERFECT NIGHT!! They killed off all four power plays of the Jets. PRAISE THE LORD. One game at a time though. Its baby steps in the right direction.
  • The Hawks won the face off battle 31-25. For a team that's been getting creamed at the dot of late, I'll take it.
  • Granted the Jets are a bad team, it still says something that the Hawks defense was able to clamp down and hold the Jets to under 30 shots.
  • Patrick Kane was the only Hawk to have a multi point night with a goal and an assist. 88 continues his path to a Hart Trophy finalist.
  • Brandon Mashinter did not play. - not a typo
The Bad
  • The Hawks tried to piss the game away by handing the Jets four power plays.
  • This is just for Gate, since he's a miserable human being. The Jets outhit the Hawks 21-15.

The Ugly
  • If you want to start a goalie controversy after one win, get the hell away and pick another team to root for. I'm having none of that bat shit fucking crazy talk.
Share:

Friday, December 11, 2015

Blackhawks vs. Jets 2-0 Shutout Win Recap

"Top Gun II"

by Patrick Stankus

The Blackhawks returned home on Friday night to take on the Winnipeg Jets for the second time in five days. After a pathetic effort on Thursday night, the Hawks would be looking to bounce back, and frankly any kind of effort would be more than what they displayed in Nashville. The one thing the Hawks had going against them is the HUGE news of the day. Did you hear that the Cubs signed Jason Heyward? Oh my God! Why continue with this recap? No one is going to care. All that matters is the Cubs won the 2016 World Series on December 11, 2015. Alright enough of this boring ass baseball shit, onto more important things.

Right from the drop of the puck, the tone of the game would be set. Just over 3:30 into the game, the Jets took a penalty, and the feature of special teams was on. The Hawks wasted little time in cashing in on the power play. Jonathan Toews score just over a minute into the man advantage to give the Hawks a 1-0 lead. The rest of the period the teams would trade power play chances, with a total of three more penalties, but when the horn sounded, the score would still be 1-0 in favor of the Hawks.

The parade to the penalty box would continue in the second period. The Hawks would end up being shorthanded three times, with the Jets shorthanded two times. The lone goal of the period would come at the midway part of the game. While on the power play, Patrick Kane extended his points streak to 25 games with a power play goal. The remainder of the penalties would be killed off and after 40 minutes, the Hawks would lead the Jets 2-0.

In the third period, the penalties would tail off with the Hawks taking the lone penalty. For the majority of the period, the Jets had the momentum, but couldn't get a shot past Crawford. Actually that was it. Aside from an Andrew Shaw breakaway, I damn near fell asleep. In the end the Hawks would hang on for the 2-0 shutout win over the Jets.


The Good
  • The Blackhawks power play ended the night 2 for 5. I'll take that after knowing how awful they can be at times.
  • Patrick Kane extended his points streak to 25 games with a power play tally in the 2nd period.
  • Jonathan Toews had the opening goal in the 1st period, and was 65% at the dot. For someone who has struggled for the majority of the season, there are no complaints with that line.
  • The Hawks blocked 23 shots tonight. Can't complain when guys are willing to sacrifice themselves and block a shot.
  • Unlike Thursday night, the effort for a full 60 minutes was there for the Hawks. It was a great bounce back performance.
  • Corey Crawford recorded 25 save shutout tonight. That's back to back performances where he has been stellar.
  • See what happens when the Puckin' Hostile Crew doesn't go to games when the Jets are in town? We will no longer attend games against the Jets.
  • Trevor Daley "massively outperformed" Brent Seabrook tonight. Daley had 8:44 of ice time, while Seabrook had 25:09 of ice time. By all means Daley is the heart and soul of the Hawks defense. That's why he's out there at critical points of the game.

The Bad
  • The Hawks took 5 penalties tonight. FIVE. Luckily the PK came through and killed off all five. Seriously how terrible is the Jets power play???
  • Artem Anisimov was crushed at the dot again. Tonight he was 39%.
  • If I wanted to nit pick, I'd say the Hawks could have been better in the third period. After Thursday's performance though, lets just enjoy this win.

The Ugly
  • Dustin Byfuglien is a joke. If there is anyone out there who misses this gigantic marshmellow, go get checked for a concussion.
  • Bryan Bickell's presence was felt again, mainly on the bench. He was a team low at 6:45 of ice time.
  • Did you guys hear the Cubs signed Jason Heyward???!! Seriously enough. Its December.
Share:

Sunday, December 6, 2015

Blackhawks vs. Jets 3-1 Win Recap

"Stone Temple Pilots"

by Patrick Stankus

On Sunday afternoon the Blackhawks hosted the Winnipeg Jets at The UC in a rare 4pm start. Prior to the game, the Hawks made some news off the ice. After being placed on waivers by the Hawks on Saturday, Viktor Tikhonov was claimed by the Coyotes, thus clearing the way for the Hawks to recall Bryan Bickell from Rockford. What remains to be seen is the effect losing Tikhonov has on Artemi Panarin, but only time will tell.

The first period got underway with both teams looking a little sluggish at the start. That however changed as the period went on. Both teams saw several quality scoring chances in the period, but it was the Hawks that looked like they struck first. However after a video review, Marcus Kruger was determined to have done a distinct kicking motion at the puck, and the call was overturned. The Hawks however would not be denied. Later in the period, after a great shift by the fourth line, Marian Hossa found a bouncing puck off a rebound, and put it in the net to give the Hawks a 1-0 lead. The period would end with the Jets getting a little testy. Bryan Bickell leveled Stay Puff Buff, who had his head down, and a scrum would follow. When the horn sounded though, it would be the Hawks who would take the lead into the dressing room at 1-0.

When the puck dropped in the second period, it was clear the Jets had fed off of the first period energy more than the Hawks. The Hawks looked like they sat back, and let the Jets run wild for a bit. Just over five minutes in, the Jets tied the game on a goal by Chris Thorburn that no one saw. For the most part the rest of the period was ho hum, with a couple of chances here and there. That changed late in the period when a scary incident involving Trevor Daley occurred. Daley fell head first into Chris Thorburn and was down on the ice for an extended period of time. A stretcher was brought out for Daley, but ultimately he left the ice with assistance from teammates. As time wound down, neither team would net another goal, and after 40 minutes the game was tied at one.

The third period got underway with a determined effort by the Toews line. That effort paid off 21 seconds into the period as Teravainen scored to put the Hawks ahead 2-1. During the third period, both teams would have opportunities on the power play, but neither could convert their opportunity. With Kane not registering a point, it looked as if his points streak would come to an end as time wound down. Then Winnipeg pulled Michael Hutchinson for the extra attacker and Kane found himself on the ice. Kane battled a loose puck to a wide open Artemi Panarin who netted the empty netter and extended Kane's streak to a franchise record 22 games. That empty netter would be the final goal scored and the Hawks would go on to defeat the Jets 3-1. Next up for the Hawks is a visit from the Nashville Predators to The UC on Tuesday night.

The Good
  • Instead of whining about having his goal overturned, Kruger and the fourth line came back on their next shift, and set the tone for Hossa to score on the ensuing shift.
  • As funny as it was to see Byfuglien treat Bickell like his bitch early in the game, it was very enjoyable to see Bickell get Byfuglien back. Towards the end of the first period, Bickell leveled Byfuglien after Byfuglien was caught with his head down. That's what happens when you skate with your head down.
  • After being shit on by the broadcasters in the first two periods, Teuvo had a nice response of F-U by scoring 20 seconds into the third period. Hopefully this gets the gorilla off of his back.
  • Patrick Kane extended his points streak to a franchise record 22 games with an assist on an Artemi Panarin empty net goal. Cheap way to extend a streak? Yes, but the Sedin twins do a lot of their work via the empty net too.
  • Marcus Kruger was excellent tonight, in fact the entire fourth line was excellent tonight.
  • Not often to I give credit to both goalies, but this afternoon Crawford, and Hutchinson were outstanding for their respective teams.
  • The PK had a bounce back night, after a few rough outings of late. They had a solid night killing off both of the Jets power play chances.

The Bad
  • Marcus Kruger thought he had scored in the first period. Unfortunately after video review, the WAR room in Toronto reversed the call of good goal on the ice because of a distinct kicking motion. Naturally the Twitter experts came out in full force to show their displeasure. Remember, the WAR room has a lot more looks at it than us. Even though he was being dragged down, Kruger leg did move forward. 9 times out of 10 that's going to be determined a distinct kicking motion. Get over it. This is coming from Kruger's biggest fan.
  • The Blackhawks first power play of the game was fun as pulling out all of your teeth.
  • Lots of people were confused after the Jets were awarded a goal after a stoppage for a tv timeout. Just as WGN went to break, the horn sounded in the background, which meant the WAR room was buzzing down for some reason. That reason was 45 seconds earlier, Chris Thorburn had redirected a Tobias Enstrom shot past Crawford, and was awarded a goal that no one saw. Funny how that works with an extra set of eyeballs.
  • Aside from his hit on Byfuglien (which I enjoyed), Bryan Bickell was well, here ya go; -1, 7 hits, and a team low 7:03. But that element he brings to the bench is much needed.

The Ugly
  • TVR took a puck to the knee or balls in the first period, and struggled to get off the ice following a stoppage. Thankfully towards the end of the first period TVR did return.
  • Five minutes into the game, Andrew Desjardins took a lazy penalty. Clearly he's been hanging out with Andrew Shaw too much.
  • I wish we had a "The Hilarious" section, because I'd put the sequence of an attempted hit by Bickell on Byfuglien in there. Not only did Bickell go flying after he made contact, but less than five seconds later Shaw tried his hand on Byfuglien, and Byfuglien sent him flying like a little bitch. Talk about comical.
  • As much as we shit on Trevor Daley, he was involved in a scary scene in 2nd period that no one wants to see. Daley toe picked and fell head first into Chris Thorburn. Daley looked like he was in quite a bit of distress, and a stretcher was brought out for him. Ultimately he left the ice with assistance from Duncan Keith and trainer Mike Gapski. Daley did not return.
  • The Hawks power play ended the night 0 for 3. None of the three opportunities produced any memorable moments.
Share:

Thursday, October 29, 2015

Blackhawks at Winnipeg
3-1 Loss Recap

"The Strangest Party"

by Gatekeeper

The Blackhawks traveled to the land of Lake Toews, Winnipeg Manitoba, Thursday night. They came in looking to add a little pep in their offense, after not scoring a regulation goal in over 2 full games. They made a couple of moves in preparation of the trip demoting Vinny Hinostroza, while recalling AHL Player of the Week Tanner Kero and defenseman Erik Gustafsson. Just to sprinkle in some drama, Quenneville scratched Teuvo Teravainen and dressed Bryan Bickell, who hadn't played in 12 days. Perfect way to spark some goals. For those that have a hard time sensing sarcasm...


The first period was already more productive than the previous six regulation periods, as the Hawks and Jets both scored, and the Blackhawks goal was on some strange advantage called a "power play". I'll have to "google" it. The Blackhawks also led in shots, 14-9. I guess we can't get greedy, because there wasn't much more than a few bad penalties to speak of.

The second period did not go quite as well for the Blackhawks. A sloppy penalty turned into a goal that gave the Jets a 2-1 lead. The Blackhawks, once again, led in shots 18-13 which didn't do them any good, in the end. Things did not get any better from there.

The Blackhawks had the wheels fall off the wagon in the third period. A poor start resulted in an insurance goal, which they were never able to recover from. Believe it or not, they actually out shot the Jets, again, 14-9 for a total of 46 to the Jets' 31. A late push wasn't going to be enough on the road, and they finally succumbed 3-1.

Next up, the Minnesota Wild, and another #Fatrick recap.

The Good
  • The Blackhawks wasted no time taking a lead in this one. Jonathan Toews drew a penalty just eighteen seconds into the game, with a nice bull rush into the Jets zone. A minute and seven seconds into the powerplay, Patrick Kane snapped a fairly innocent looking shot through Hutchinson, to take a quick lead, on a really nice cross ice feed from Artemi Panarin.
  • Blackhawks killer Michael Hutchinson was on fire once again. The Blackhawks had plenty of shots on net, but he answered all but one. That soft spot for lefty goalies just grows bigger.

The Bad
  • The Jets tied the game about half way into the first period. The Hawks were pinned in their own zone and Jonathan Toews lost the draw. Blake Wheeler curled around the circle, picked up the loose puck. Once he cleared the forwards, he snapped a wrist shot past Crawford's glove.
  • Five minutes into the second period the Hawks inability to clear the puck out of the zone on the penalty kill led to an Andrew Ladd goal. Jonathan Toews second penalty of the night was a costly one. The PK unit of Kruger, Desjardins, Hjalmarsson, and van Riemsdyk got stuck out on the ice for way too long, 1:12 to be exact. Crawford tried to keep the Jets at bay with a really nice save pushing across his crease, but eventually Ladd found a fat rebound on his stick and pumped it into the net.
  • Apparently, Steve Konroyd is unaware of the change to the tripping penalty. Andrew Shaw had a step on Jacob Trouba, and Trouba dove to knock the puck away. All good and well, but he also tripped Shaw. Doesn't matter if get the puck, anymore. A trip, is a trip, is a trip, is a trip. Shaw should have drawn a penalty at the very least, and probably should have had a penalty shot. Instead, no call. I haven't a fucking clue how you explain that.
  • David Rundblad, once again, ended up being one of the featured characters on an opposing goal. He got caught waving at an airborn puck in a very low percentage play a the Jets blue line, and Nikolaj Ehlers beat the covering Trevor Daley to the puck. Mark Scheifele was the 3rd man in, and Ehlers hit him on the tape. Scheifele wasted no time and snapped a low shot past Crawford, for a 3-1 Jets lead.
  • The Hawks were slightly under 50% at the dots, and one of those losses directly led to the game tying goal.

The Ugly
  • Steve Konroyd. God damn is he boring. I'd rather drag my nuts though a bed of broken glass.
  • The "boos" on the road for Patrick Kane...still out there.
  • This Bickell for Teravainen thing is fucking infuriating. Taking skill and scoring touch out of the lineup, and inserting a big dumb animal doesn't make a lot of sense. Bickell played a team low 13 shifts for 8:15. You mean to tell me that Teravainen couldn't provide more in that same amount of time? the answer is NO. Quenneville tried to spout some bullshit in the post game about it "not sending a message", and it was about "who deserved to play", which is an enormous fucking lie.
  • I try, David Rundblad. I TRY to give you the benefit of the doubt. You miss big checks. You fumble the puck at the blue line then leading to 2-on-1 breaks. You just SUCK!

The Lineblender
Tikhonov - Toews - Hossa
Panarin - Anisimov - Kane
Bickell - Kero - Garbutt
Desjardins - Kruger - Shaw

Seabrook - Svedberg
van Riemsdyk - Hjalmarsson
Rundblad - Daley


Share:

Sunday, March 29, 2015

Blackhawks at Winnipeg
4-3 Win Recap

Late Arrival
by Patrick Stankus

After an embarrassing effort at home on Friday night against the Columbus Blue Jackets, the Blackhawks traveled north of the border to Winnipeg on Sunday night for the beginning stage of games in back to back nights. Since the Hawks last left the ice on Friday night, they were surpassed in the Central Division by the Minnesota Wild, and now find themselves in the first of two wild card spots in the Western Conference. To say this was a big two points on the line against a team that is only four points behind them in the wild card spot is an understatement.

Much like the game on Friday night, the Hawks came out slow and the Jets had the Hawks on their heels for the first 15 minutes of the game. A couple of huge saves by Crawford kept the Jets off the scoreboard while the Hawks were still awaking. Late in the period, Andrew Shaw drew a penalty, and subsequently scored on the ensuing power play to give the Hawks a 1-0 into the first intermission.

Unlike the first period, the second period in Winnipeg featured countless amounts of chances for both teams. The Hawks had a couple of 2 on 1s and 2 on 0s, but couldn't convert on neither. Meanwhile the Jets were able to capitalize on their opportunities. The one play that stood out was the Hawks forwards going for a change while the Jets were rushing the puck up the ice. As is always the case when it comes to bad changes, the puck wound up in the back of the net. In the end the Jets added 2 more goals, while the Hawks added one of their own. At the end of the penalty ridden second period, it was 3-2 in favor of the Jets.

The third period continued the trend throughout the game, featuring countless chances for both teams, and sloppy play. Patrick Sharp managed to seal the deal on a breakaway in the third to tie the game at three. The Blackhawks took two penalties in the third, including one late in the period, but were able to kill both of them off. Riding the momentum from the late kill the Hawks kept the puck deep in the Jets zone in the closing minutes. With 30 seconds to go Toews redirected a point shot from Hjalmarsson past Pavelec to give the Hawks the 4-3 lead, and that would wind up being the final.

The Good
- While people were busy bitching and moaning about the elbowing call on Hjalmarsson, the Hawks caught two breaks in the third period. 1, in which the ref anticipated Crawford freezing the puck, only to see Crawford never had it. And 2, Tobias Enstrom got tangled up with the linesman, resulting in Sharp getting a breakaway and shockingly scored on it.
-It can't be stressed enough, but to win this game in regulation was huge. They couldn't afford to give the Jets a point, nor would a shootout win be good if the standings are tied at the end of the season.
- Jonathan Toews is stepping up in the absence of Patrick Kane. It'd be nice of others followed suit.
- Yes, he yielded 3 goals, but Corey Crawford was huge in net for the Hawks tonight. He made a couple of saves that kept the Hawks in the game.

The Bad
- Why the fuck is Andrew Shaw playing center again? We all know how this is going to end.
- I'm all for Teravainen playing, but seeing him playing a fourth line role as a wing bothers me. Speaking of bothersome wing combos, seriously, again with Versteeg on the first line?
- Its not Crawford's fault that the defense, or forwards that went for a change hung him out to dry, but needless to say, Blake Wheeler faked him out of his jock on the Jets second goal.
- I was going to put Rozsival in the good category, but then we got his usual fuck up. This time it was courtesy of a late penalty in the third period.
- The Jets out shot the Hawks 34-24. It'd be nice if the defense could tighten up a little bit.

The Ugly
- Kimmo Timonen was absolutely awful in the first period. Its quite obvious he can't keep up with the speed and size in the Western Conference. He ended up with a team low 9:15 of ice time.
- What the fuck is Kris Versteeg doing killing penalties when Antoine Vermette is on the bench? Seriously, what the fuck?! Has Q not seen Vermette play before? What an asshole.
- You can't blame Q for a piss pore line change, but nevertheless, it was a piss pore line change on the power play that led to the Jets second goal.
- It was a rough night for the penalty kill as they allowed 2 power play goals.
- Great, Dustin Byfuglien had 2 goals for the Jets. Now we'll have to listen to all the meatballs say, "Hawks need Big Buff back."

Share:

Friday, February 6, 2015

Blackhawks at Jets
2-1 OT Win Recap

Battle Of Struggles

by Patrick Stankus

On Friday night the Blackhawks continued their Ice Show trip in the frozen tundra that is Winnipeg. It featured a battle between two teams that have been struggling of late, both on and off the ice (at least in the Jets case.) We'll save the Evander Kane talk for the next shoutcast, but can someone please tell me why Blackhawks fans care so much about how Winnipeg disciplines their players? Ok, enough, onto the game.

While I always look forward to games in Winnipeg, I was especially looking forward to this one, as it marked the return of Gorilla Salad to the lineup. As expected, Salad was challenged to a fight early on by Chris Thorburn. I have to credit Salad, he didn't back down like a coward (cough, cough, Matt Cooke) and fought Thorburn as a sort of retribution for his dirty cross check to Mathieu Perreault the last time these two teams faced off. As for the scoreboard, oh boy, not much there. Winnipeg managed to open the scoring after a turnover by Rundblad led to a loose puck bouncing off an official and Mark Scheifele giving the Jets a 1-0 lead after one.

The second period wasn't much more entertaining. Patrick Kane was able to solve former INXS singer Michael Hutchinson, or in this case former AHL St. John's IceCaps goalie Michael Hutchinson, on a sweet backhand to tie the game at one. That early tally by Kane would be the only one of the period, but Corey Crawford did make a huge save on a HUGE human named Dustin Byfuglien to keep the game tied.

As for the third period, you'll have to forgive, it was absolutely boring. Combine that with a lack of sleep and Steve Konroyd's voice, and I have found a cure for my insomnia. Hell yeah. Oh, as for the game, it ended up going to overtime tied at one.

The overtime frame featured a few chances for the Jets, all of which failed to end the game. Finally Patrick Kane found the puck, and Brandon Saad cleaned it up for Kane, which gave the Blackhawks a 2-1 win over the Jets. So now as we all pat each other on the back because all is right with Blackhawks since they beat a fellow struggling team, just keep in mind St. Louis was embarrassed tonight in Columbus, so enjoy this win while you can. Side note, because the Blackhawks won, this cost me another 12 pack of beer. Its pretty clear I need to stop betting with the Capitals fan at work.

The Good
- The win marked the 300th win as coach of the Blackhawks for Joel Quenneville. I think Savard would have accomplished this feat too. That zing was courtesy of Nick Leddy for giving him the hometown healthy scratch last year. How's it feel have someone shit on your parade?
- Pop the champagne, the Blackhawks beat Michael Hutchinson
- Patrick Kane was fantastic tonight. Again, sometimes you need your star players to step up, and Kane is showing some leadership qualities here.
- Michal Rozsival had an assist. I shit you not. I know, I'm stunned too. It doesn't change my opinion of him, but I thought it would be good to give him a night off of the being in the The Bad or Ugly category.
- Corey Crawford made some big saves to keep the game in reach for the Hawks, and finished with 20 saves on 21 shots.

The Bad
- For awhile it was looking like the Toyota Jan commercials were going to be more entertaining than this game. Yes folks it was that boring.
- It'd be nice if the Blackhawks could avoid some hits from time to time. The Jets out hit the Hawks 41-16. Mark my words, these hits are going to add up come playoff time.

The Ugly
- Thanks to Mr. "I'm the greatest coach ever" and his fancy coaching decisions, Adequate Rundblad played a whopping 3:50 tonight. That's a fucking joke. Yes, Rundblad had a turnover, a turnover caused by a hit. It wasn't a bad blind pass like Kris Versteeg is famous for. So if someone can explain to me how rolling with 5 defensemen, 3 of which are NHL caliber defensemen, is what's best for a struggling team, then I'm all ears. Don't give me the "they still won the game shit" because that is all bullshit in the end. You damn well know what I'm talking about.
- As in the case of Gatekeeper's recap of the Sharks game, this recap has gone on way too long. See you after the St. Louis game on Sunday morning. Sounds like that one will be fun.

Share:

Shoutcast Player

Instagram

Facebook Page

Blog Archive